When you're dreaming.

Starburst
Starburst Member Posts: 2,546
edited 5. Jun 2015, 05:47 in Living with Arthritis archive
I've always been a vivid dreamer and more often than not, I remember my dreams. In my dreams, I am always very physically fit and able. However, last night, I had my first dream where my physical problems featured and I was using my crutch. I like to ponder on the meaning on my dreams and I wonder if this is an unconscious acceptance that the crutch I've been using for 2 years has become a permanent feature of my life. I'm interested in hearing about other people's experiences, if they wish to share.

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    I rarely remember dreams unless I wake up in the middle. I don't use walking aids so wouldn't in my dreams. I can't recall the last time I ran though either in reality or in dreams.
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • Slosh
    Slosh Member Posts: 3,194
    I don't always remember my dreams, I think it's something to do with what part of the sleep cycle you wake up in, but when I do they are very vivid, often they relate back to things that had happened the day before or to things that are on my mind and sometimes are so vivid and realistic that I have been known to check if something actually happened or was just a dream. I find that at the moment it varies in my dreams if I am using my crutches or not, this has only started happening over the last month or so and I was thinking the same as you, that it shows a gradual acceptance of the "new" me, and in my case the timing of this would also fit in with my starting counselling.
    He did not say you will not be storm tossed, you will not be sore distressed, you will not be work weary. He said you will not be overcome.
    Julian of Norwich
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520