Food/diet to help osteoartritis

missbentley
missbentley Member Posts: 4
edited 17. Jun 2015, 19:25 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi All

Newbie here - I was diagnosed with osteoarthritis last December and having tried some prescribed medications, I find that I am reacting to many of them.

I am very much a believer in working holistically and was wondering whether any of you have changed your diet to try and make a difference?

Many thanks

:)

Comments

• daffy2
    daffy2 Member Posts: 1,636
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello missbentley
    Diet can be a bit of a contentious issue. As you may have already found there are any number of diets claiming to 'cure' all manner of conditions. Some people find that certain foods can aggravate symptoms and so may choose to avoid them. What you might find useful is to keep a food diary for a while and see if there are any 'trigger' foods for you. It is quite likely that if there are things which don't agree with you anyway they may not help. For me it's wheat(I'm not coeliac), which I realised more than 15 years ago was causing me problems, and if I eat it now for whatever reason I do find that joint pain joins the other effects.
    Forgot to say I too have OA(among other things)
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    I find that acids, pickles and vinegars aggravate my OA (controllable) as does cold and damp weather (not controllable). For some limiting their diet can make a difference but for others it achieves very little. I concur with others on here that a good Mediterranean-style diet is the best option for all areas of health. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • Roadback
    Roadback Bots Posts: 35
    Hi missbently

I also avoid wheat and corn for my arthritis. Cow dairy - especially cream can effect my skin too.

My view on this is that the reason some foods react to some people and not to other people is down a few things -

1) Genetics