Inflammation on the knees

Daniellescott29
Daniellescott29 Member Posts: 4
edited 24. Jun 2015, 04:45 in Say Hello Archive
Hi my name is Danielle

I'm currently a student nurse and having a stressful time at getting my head around possible diagnosis. I have had fluid on my left knee from August last year then my right knee flared up in December. They were not drained and injected until April. They have flared up since then but the consultant is unsure if it's reactive arthritis and they flared up again due to my occupation of being on my feet all the time or if I have chronic arthritis. I am finding it difficult to come to terms with and am becoming convinced due to the pain that it is chronic arthritis. My consultant has not been the best and through word of mouth from my GP I was told the possible medication if I have arthritis can cause infertility. It feels like a toss up between my career and a family ATM. Could anyone give advice or had a similar diagnosis?

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Danielle,

Welcome to the forum from the Moderation Team. You will find lots of help and advice from the forum members, all of whom have one or more types of arthritis or care for someone with arthritis.

If you have any queries regarding the site just send a message to moderator and we will look after you.

Take care
    Mod Yx
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,689
    Hello Danielle and welcome from me, too.

A diagnosis of any kind of arthritis comes as a shock to anyone but, as you are just beginning on a career which is physically demanding, that must make it even more scary.

You are seeing a consultant (presumably a rheumatologist) and that is good though I wonder why you feel he / she 'has not been the best'. Diagnosing any form of inflammatory arthritis can often be a long drawn out process and not very clear cut. Some of us neatly tick all boxes from the start but many others don't.