Psoratic arthritis and working in healthcare

liz101
liz101 Member Posts: 5
Hi,

I recently been diagosed with psoratic arthritis by my rheumatologist (as in 3 days ago). I'm 30years old and I have had psoriasis for 20years, though it is mild and doesn't bother me in any way. I work as a junior doctor in paediatrics, which is pretty high powered and intense at times.

I developed a swollen right thumb joint 3 months ago and a swollen toe (which doesnt bother me) and since I have a bit of background knowledge got referred to rheum quite quickly. My bloods have all been normal, including infammatory markers.
Despite this I was really shocked when the consultant told me that it was PsA and that she recommened me starting methotrexate and enrolling on a trial with a biologic as well as soon as possible.

To me the thought of being on these high power drugs is a big deal, I am around sick children everyday and I am not sure if the treatment that is being recommened is worse than the acutal thumb swelling, which only gives me mild pain and causes discomfort when I write some days.

Does anyone else know of other people taking DMARDS or Biologics that work in healthcare and how they cope, for example with the increased risk of infection.

Thanks

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Welcome to Arthritis Care Forums liz101 from the moderation team

As mods we are here to help with any problems you may have on the message boards.

There are lots of lovely people here with a wide range of experiences with arthritis and the problems of living with the condition. Just join in wherever you like you will be made very welcome.

I look forward to seeing you posting on the boards.

Best wishes

Mod JK
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    Hello Liz and welcome from me too.