Hello from London

Trea
Trea Member Posts: 28
edited 5. Feb 2016, 06:04 in Say Hello Archive
Hello everybody,
I am new to Arthritis and have OA of the lower spine and am still getting my head around it. There are good days and bad days and I am getting to know my body. Had my first big scare when my back went into a spasm and have now figured out that carrying on when it is really painful doesn't work at all (I can hear you all saying *doh*). Nonetheless having a really good spell atm (thanks to drugs?) and am grateful for this forum.
Andrea

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Andrea

Welcome to Arthritis Care Forums. As mods we are here to help with any problems you may have on the message boards.

Do explore & post across the different sections: I'm sure you will find any help & answers to any questions you may have.

I look forward to seeing you posting on the boards.

All best wishes
    Mod B
  • daffy2
    daffy2 Member Posts: 1,636
    Hi Andrea, welcome to the forum, sorry you had to find us as we say! I can sympathise with the back spasm situation, as I used to have quite a few problems due to scoliosis(curvature of the spine). What helped me was finding an excellent osteopath who worked on the muscles to 'unknot' them, and in between whiles it was up to me to be aware of how I was using my body to avoid tension from being lopsided( Alexander technique helped there). Something like OA(which I have developed in multiple joints and the spine over the last 3 years) can make us use our body in ways that are not always helpful and lead to muscle imbalance and tension, which as you've found is most unpleasant! It might be worth discussing physio with your GP, and perhaps looking into something like Pilates.