saying hello

Options
biggles
biggles Member Posts: 5
edited 27. Oct 2016, 04:57 in Say Hello Archive
Hi I am very new to this but am hoping to talk to people who share the issues we deal with daily. I am 65 and have been diagnosed with osteoarthritis mostly in the knees and fibromyalgia. There is no group in my area and I do think sometimes its good to talk??Also I am looking for a little advice. I wondered about trying an osteopath or having acupuncture to help to slow down what is happening? Any suggestions and advice would be appreciated.

Comments

• biggles
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Thank you Sharon.
    If there is anyone out there who thinks acupuncture or visiting an osteopath has really helped them with managing their osteoarthritis I would love to hear from you!!! Don't know what to try. I live in the Reading area so it's also about access to either one?
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    Options
    Hello Biggles, it's nice to meet you and I hope the forum can help with information and support. I have too have OA and fibro - currently the latter is causing me much trouble which is most irksome. I have to go and cook but will be back later. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • biggles
    Options
    Ok!! Lovely to hear from you. It would be wonderful to hear how you are coping.
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,710
    Options
    Hi biggles.

I've had RA and, as a consequence, OA for many years. I've never used an osteopath but I do find physio exercises essential. I used acupuncture a couple of times. It kind of helped very briefly but not enough or for long enough.

I reckon we need to focus on what we ca do not on what we can't. I break down activities into small tasks that are easier to manage. I do my exercises daily and eat healthily. The rest is in the lap of the gods. Good luck!