Newbie here

RhiannonSteffi89
RhiannonSteffi89 Member Posts: 3
edited 27. Jul 2017, 12:37 in Say Hello Archive
Hi all

Thought i would join this forum as it would be good to chat to people who know who i feel on a day to day basis!

I am 27 and recently found out i have arthritis in my right hip, it took a while for me to see a rheumatologist but i finally got an answer although i don't get to see her again until August to find out what we are going to do, so far i know that i am hypermobile and have arthritis but am also waiting on results of an MRI on my spine where I believe there are some compressed discs.

Unfortunately i believe all of this has come about due to multiple falls off of my horse, i've had to retire us both from riding now and although i love cuddling him every day i do miss horse riding. I've tried riding friends horses but i can't sit on a horse for longer than 5 minutes without getting excruciating pain in my lower back and hips.

I'm having a bad day with pain today after a trip to London yesterday, it appears that my body can't handle standing for long periods anymore which sucks :( Just walking around the shops has had me in agony with every step.

I'd love to hear some ways people cope and also to hear how any other younger sufferers keep positive as i worry about things only getting worse as i get older so hopefully this forum will help with that.

Sorry for the long post, all i was trying to say was hi!

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello

Welcome to the forum, I am sure you will find support, advice, light relief and friendship on here.

I am one of the moderation team, we all hav e one or more arthritis "hanger's on" or look after family with the same.

Best wishes
    ChrisK
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    Hi there and please don't apologise. We all have arthritis in one form or another and we do understand how difficult it gets at times.