Hi!

RMarie
RMarie Member Posts: 5
edited 17. Jul 2017, 04:27 in Say Hello Archive
Hi everyone! I was diagnosed with RA just over a year ago; at the age of 29. I have had a few bad weeks at the moment though. I've had yet another flare-up of my arthritis (grrrr) and also have iron-deficiency anemia (is this quite common with RA?). I'm feeling achy and tired at the moment; I'm a primary school teacher and am trying to make it to the end of term. Does anyone else work full-time and, if so, how do you manage during a flare-up?
Thank-you for your help,

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi RMarie,

Welcome to the forum, it's lovely to meet you. You will be looking forward to the holidays - not long to go now.

Here's a booklet on living with RA ignore the apparent ages of the people in the photos - that's just how it makes you feel!

I mostly like heat, I also have a Tens machine that I use when I've run out of everything else - talk about forgetful!

Keep posting - I'll look forward to chatting again soon

Take care
    Yvonne x
  • RMarie
    Hi Yvonne!

Thank-you for the reply. I am certainly looking forward to the summer holidays :-) I feel sad as I have such a lovely year one class at the moment but I definitely need a rest. I hadn't thought about a TENS machine for the pain. I will have to look into that. I have been on methotrexate for a little over a year but have been getting frequent flare-ups which is something I plan to talk to my consultant about when I see him in a couple of weeks.
    At the moment I am using ice packs as I have a high temperature and active inflammation in my left hand and knee and cannot bear the thought of a hot water bottle.