Hello there...

keeley78
keeley78 Member Posts: 3
edited 21. Jul 2017, 05:56 in Say Hello Archive
Hi

I'm new to this site and forum so please bear with me.

I'm having a pretty bad week with my arthritis and my OH suggested I find a good website/forum and try and attempt to share my thoughts and experiences with other people in a similar situation as me to see if this would help.

I was diagnosed with osteoarthritis from a very early age and it never impinged on my childhood in anyway however as I'm getting older and since having my first child nearly twenty year ago my arthritis has deteriorated significantly. I never have two days the same, some days it doesn't bother me in the slightest and then there is days like today where I can't even walk my dogs or even nip over to my local shops. I'm normally fit and healthy and I work full time as a nurse. I like to exercise and swim quite regular in between my working days to be proactive but on days like today I struggle and I haven't done anything out of the ordinary. Pain management wise over the years I've just taken paracetamol and ibuprofen whenever I had a bad day but this last year I've had to start taking co codamol (makes me so nauseous also). I spoke to my GP recently and explained my symptoms etc and he prescribed Tramadol even though I asked him to avoid that stuff because I need to be alert to drive to work safely and do my job effectively (not off my face) anyway I tried one 50mg dose one afternoon and I was violently sick all over and pretty much comatose for the remainder of the day so I binned the rest of them. I do have a further appointment next week with him to try something else. Needless to say I've been under the care of a ortho consultatnt and they won't even entertain me having surgery even though I've told them repeatedly that my quality of life is starting to be affected by me avoiding triggers and situations that may make my arthritis flare up. I'm 38 year old by the way. I've kind of took i