Hi! New member; recent psoriatic arthritis diagnosis

JMckie33
JMckie33 Member Posts: 6
edited 14. Oct 2017, 23:04 in Say Hello Archive
Hi everyone!
I'm Jaclyn, age 33 and I was diagnosed with psoriatic arthritis in March this year. Currently on methotrexate injections as tablets didn't work. No improvement as yet but hopefully things will improve soon. My biggest issue is my knees as both are very swollen with limited movement. I can't walk properly and it's very noticeable.
Does anyone else with PA find 'flare ups' last for months on end with no let up?

I'm new to all this so finding it confusing and worrying. Any info or advice would be very helpful.

Jaclyn

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi and welcome to the forums - there are many members on here and I'm sure you will get the answers you seek,in the meantime please read our leaflet (living with arthritis,link below),if we as moderators can be of any help just ask.
    https://www.arthritiscare.org.uk/living-with-arthritis
    Al
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    Hello, I too have PsA, I began back in 1997 (aged 37) with a left knee that kept on swelling so I can empathise with your current experience. To cut a very long and boring story short I now take injected meth (15ml) and injected humira (one of the anti TNF medications). I know they are controlling matters because my blood results are good so that has to be pleasing enough.