New subscriber, psoriatic arthritis

Options
GiselleIV4Boat
GiselleIV4Boat Member Posts: 2
edited 31. Jan 2018, 11:32 in Say Hello Archive
Hello, what a great site. I have psoriatic arthritis and every morning I feel as if I have been in a car crash the night before. I have had my appointment with the Consultant delayed by a couple of months and I feel in a lot of pain. As a nurse myself I tend to manage with paracetamol alone and as much positive thinking as possible. I have just ordered Turmeric capsules and use other alternative meds. My feet hurt, my right knee is swollen, my left shoulder and a finger on each hand is painful. I know there are many with more symptoms and much more pain and I completely emphasise with my co-sufferers... any advice would be hugely appreciated, I am ex forces and ex prison service by background and work in the private healthcare sector (mental health), not sure if I can keep working at present. Many thanks for reading my anguish, first time I have ever spoken about it I think.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello GiselleIV4Boat and welcome to the forums on behalf of the moderation team.

I am very sorry to hear about your Psoriatic Arthritis; you do sound to be suffering and having your rheumatology appointment postponed is not what anyone needs when they are pain. I am so glad you have found this forum as talking about what you are going through can be really helpful.

Am I right in thinking you are already diagnosed and this appointment was with rheumatology? If so have you access to a rheumatology nurse for advice about tweaking medication you might already be on or bringing your appointment forwards again? It is awful to be in such pain without any hope of solving it.