experiences with steroids and methotrexate.

Sarahkt
Sarahkt Member Posts: 3
edited 2. Jun 2019, 09:38 in Young people's community
Hi Everyone,

I got diagnosed a few months ago with RA after 2 years of slowly spreading pain. its progressed pretty quickly in the past month to the point of struggling to walk anywhere, which is tough as Im a musician and have a work trip planned in two weeks to America.

Ive started methotrexate and am on my fourth week. i'm also taking oral steroids. None of which seem to be helping at all. i'm actually getting worse and thinking about cancelling my trip. Does anyone have experience with methotrexate and how long it takes to work? My pain seems to flare up a lot the day after I take methotrexate as well.

I'm only on 7.5mg at the moment but its SUCH a long journey especially when you cant work or move and the days drag on. very disheartening especially when your family/friends cant understand how incapacitating it can be.

would be great to know that other people understand and are in the same boat. all the best to everyone struggling!

Sarah

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Sarah,

Lovely to meet you, it is very difficult to adjust to any autoimmune arthritis. I found like you that my joints suddenly seemed so much worse after being diagnosed- I wonder if I sort of gave myself permission to be in pain once someone else agreed it was there.

Regardless you are here at the beginning of your journey with arthritis. It is tricky to sort out the medication to give you the best effect on the lowest dose, and with methotrexate it can take up to 12 weeks before enough has built up in your system. The steroids are there to give you relief in the interim, not good to take them for long periods. Do you have a rheumatology nurse you could ring for advice?