Hi, newbie here with an arthritic shoulder.

flyboy
flyboy Member Posts: 2
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:04 in Living with arthritis
Hello, I'm hoping to hear from forum members who have had shoulder joint replacements due to osteoarthritis. I am a 70 year old man and have been told by my hospital consultant that after the replacement I will not have the full range of movement that an undamaged natural joint once gave me. I was also told there would be no guarantee that I would be totally relieved of pain. I cannot take or use anti-inflammatory tablets/gels like Ketoprofen or Ibuprofen due to other medical issues and at the moment am getting pain relief from using a medicinal cannabis based balm. My affected shoulder means that the arm on that side is only about 50% useful at the moment and I am worried about long term muscle wastage. I would like to hear the good and bad from any of you that have had shoulder replacements. Many thanks.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello

Welcome to this forum. You will find The members here are all friendly, will be able to offer you support, any useful information they may of had themselves. They will advise you on different things, they will be empathetic, and also you will find light relief here. Amongst our forum members there may be someone else who has had a total shoulder replacement.

I am one of the moderation team. We all have one or more of the Arthritis "hanger ons" or care for family who have the same.

Versus Arthritis has a very interesting and well written section entitled "Surgery - shoulder and elbow replacement". You can find this at

https://www.versusarthritis.org/about-arthritis/treatments/surgery/shoulder-and-elbow-replacement/

Also at the top of this page you will see there are some buttons which will take you to all the subjects Versus Arthritis covers.