Progablin drug

Tracie
Tracie Member Posts: 57
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:04 in Living with arthritis
Hi everyone newbie here. Just been diagnosed with osteoarthritis in my neck hands wrists knees n feet oh and elbows so painful due to car accident with bulging discs. I take naproxen n amitriptyline just increased progablin feels like my pain has got worse n awful side effects. Has anyone else experienced this with this drug? Gosh throbbing n stinging is horrible. Going back to my dr given extra doze a month can't take anymore .need to slowly come of it.have been taking low dose for 5 years .
Tracie 😥

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    I haven't taken pregabaln but I know from reading on here that others have had trouble with side effects which have eventually subsided as the body gets used to the new drug. It does not remove all the pain because nothing does and it always comes back because it always will.

Pain is part-and-parcel of OA, especially at this time of year with the cold, damp and stormy weather. Pain relief relieves very little in terms of touching the deeper hurt, it merely dulls the outer edges. It is more helpful to keep yourself distracted, the pain always worsens when we focus on it. It is always going to be there which is very hard to accept let alone live with but it is a fact of arthritic life. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    I'm sorry about the increased pain and the pregabalin side-effects. I think you're doing the right thing in going back to your GP for advice.

If you like you can read other posts on pregabalin here https://arthritiscareforum.org.uk/search.php?keywords=pregabalin&terms=all&author=&sc=1&sf=all&sk=t&sd=d&sr=posts&st=0&ch=300&t=0&submit=Search