Newly diagnosed

Options

OA hi my name is Marie and I’ve just had some X-ray results back from knee pain and hand pains they say the knee pain is wear and tear that was my left knee but over the last couple of days it’s shifted into my right knee to the point where it’s really painful when I’m walking causing me to limp . The doctor has phoned me this morning to speak to me about my hand pain which he said is showing weakness in the bones and I need to have a full body scan to check my spine and my hips I’m not entirely sure what he meant but he said the bones could be weaker in those parts of my body and they need to check but if this is so it’s not the end of the world and I can be put on some calcium medication. But my real problem at the minute is pain in my hands and right knee it’s affecting me at work I’m a delivery driver for the pharmacy and was an hour over my shift as I had to limp round and I’ve taught myself to use 4 fingers on my right hand and use my left hand as well the pain is unbearable at times and I lose sleep because of it and then find myself in bed till mid day and have then missed meals and insulin doses my hbacc1 is 106 at the minute so very high I’m type 1 Diabetic. I just need the pain to stop I’ve used creams and I’m on naproxen for now this is temporary as I’m a diabetic I can’t stay on it to be honest it’s not working I’m in agony all day and night it’s really depressing me . I had to get my friend to pull my bottoms up the other day as I couldn’t grip them (embarrassing)😔 I also took some of my sisters tramodol which helped ease the pain at night as I fell asleep . But I’m sleeping to long as I’m awake till the early hours I’m a bit confused and thought coming in here I might get some answers .

Comments

• Anna
    Anna Moderator Posts: 968
    edited 14. Nov 2020, 17:32
    Options

Hello @M00RE55

while you wait for the Helpline Team to get back to you, I just wanted to write to send you some support from the online community.