Knee support

Options

Hi - I'm new to this forum and could use some of people's experiences of knee supports. I have severe OA in right knee but they won't replace until I shed a fair amount of weight - I walk with crutches (also have OA in other knee and both hips and some as yet unconfirmed inflammatory arthritis possibly PMR) - I know I need to exercise more both for weight loss and also for muscle strength- but it really bloody hurts! Any advice re knee supports gratefully received.

Comments

• Dannii28
    Dannii28 Member Posts: 65
    Options

Hi @IanBM

Welcome to the Online Community Forum, you will find lots of discussions to have a look through and lots of supportive members. I have added a link below for some exercises relating to knee pain to get you started:

I have no experience with using knee supports but I am sure someone here will be able to suggest something, or you may find some suggestions in similar group discussions if you wish to take a look.

Keep us updated with how you get on

Dannii (mod)

Need more help? - call our Helpline on0800 5200 520Monday to Friday 9am to 6pm

• Lambourne
    Lambourne Member Posts: 21
    Options

I just made a comment about being refused knee replacement surgery until I have lost weight - don’t have much practical advice for you but I do know what you are going through. I have tried knee supports and unfortunately find they just slip down. I do sometimes go to the gym and find the leg press and leg curl weight machines can help in building muscle strength (start low), also find the treadmill useful as can hold on both sides which can reduce pressure on knees marginally.

• cankman
    cankman Member Posts: 10
    Options