Girdlestone procedure

Options
pebbles63
pebbles63 Member Posts: 6
edited 20. Mar 2016, 04:57 in Living with Arthritis archive
:???: Hello! This is my first time on the forum and a desperate attempt to get some help! I'm 48 and have had RA for 23 years. I've had three revision hip procedures and after a further hip failure, I have just been told that the bone stock is now so poor it is inoperable. The only option is to now undergo a girdlestone procedure which is to remove the whole hip joint and leave me without a hip. The hospital told me very little about the procedure and my subsequent searches on the internet and speaking to the AC helpline have answered questions about the procedure but I would love to hear from anyone who has had this done and find out they manage with day to day living?? I suppose I am still in shock and trying to get my head around it, but any info would be very welcome!! Thanks, Tracy.

Comments

• skezier
    skezier Member Posts: 11,333
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    hi Tracy,

sorry i can't help you with that but wanted to say welcome to posting and i hope someone will be along who can. nice to meet you though and hope you can get a lot of info as well about this from the hospital and your consultant before they go ahead with it. Cris x
  • tillytop
    tillytop Member Posts: 3,460
    Options
    Hello Tracy and welcome!

I am so sorry that you have had bad news about your hip - but hopefully there is someone here who will have experience of this procedure. We have peeps on here with many and varied joint replacements perhaps there is someone else who has had it done.

Thinking of you.

Tillyxxx
  • pebbles63
    Options
    Thanks Cris and Tilly for your kind words and support, I shall be patient and see if anyone else knows about the procedure and it's effects.
    Tracy.
  • valval
    valval Member Posts: 14,911
    Options
    sorry am in early stages of arther and have never heard of it val
    val
  • frogmorton