Chronic diarrohea is it the meds ?

Options
Lin7361
Lin7361 Member Posts: 19
edited 28. Feb 2012, 13:20 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi has anyone chronic diarrohea from sulasulaszine or naproxen
Ihave jad chronic diarrohea now for 6 wks :roll: docs are baffled and have to say im pretty fed up tried stopping 1 of sulsa but didnt work so gonna drop 2more but am wondering if its naproxen cant c :( arry on like this much longer feel really weak now

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello, it's nice to meet you though I am sorry you have had to find us. If the problem started when you began either the sulph or the nap then yes, my best guess would be that they are responsible but I am not a doctor. These are strong meds and some bodies don't take well to them but even so I don't think it wise to alter their doses without first consulting your GP or rheumatologist. The docs should not be 'baffled' they should be advising you on the best course of action - have they done any tests to see what a possible cause might be? I am not surprised that you are feeling so weak and drained. Please go to your GP as soon as possible, he should be aware of how it is affecting you. I wish you well. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • tkachev
    tkachev Member Posts: 8,332
    Options
    I get it all the time. I have no idea if it is the meds. :? I am also on sulfasalazine.
    It could be an issue with the stomach lining so would be worth mentioning although my rheumatologist and Nurse don't seem at all concerned.

It has got worse since I started eating weightwatchers meals and snacks so expect there is something in their food to clear you out(and lose weight quicker) :roll:
    For me I expect it is a combination of the two.

Elizabeth
    Never be bullied into silence.
    Never allow yourself to be made a victim.
    Accept no ones definition of your life