Osteoarthritis in both feet

Options

Hi I'm a newbie.

I have had Osteoarthritis in both feet since 2008 but only just in the last few months had it confirmed. The pain has been manageable with the help of meds, but lately it has not been very effective. I have been to the Pain Management Clinic and am currently trying new medication. 2 weeks ago my feet started hurting more than I can ever remember, the pain is excruciating, it mainly kicks off at night stopping my sleeping. Over the first 5 days when this first kicked off I had 1 and a half hours sleep (total) I have had x rays on both feet, acupuncture,homeopathy and osteopath. None have done a thing.I am at my wits end, over the last 2 weeks I have hardly slept and I mean about 10-12 hours sleep in total.I am very emotional,tired and in excruciating pain mainly at night but at times during the day

I was first on Buprenorpine patches which were great until I came out in a rash. So then put on Buprenorpine tabs which were OK but my body became used to them. I'm on Amitripyline 10mg 3 times a day, Capsaicin cream 0.025%, they don't seem to have much impact on the pain. Pain Management Clinic put me on Gabapentine 100mg 1 at night they also have had no effect. But I spoke to my Dr today and told to increase to 2 at night,if after 3-5 days no effect then increase to 3 at night. I do have to fall back that I am still in contact with the Pain Management Clinic who are regularly contacting me to check on the effectiveness of the Gabapentine. Dr did say to take 2 paracetamol 4 times a day as that increases the effectiveness of the cream and the Gabapentine.

I'm really hoping that this meds regime kicks in soon because I am in dire need of a good night's sleep. So far in the last 2 weeks my total sleep just reaches double figures in total and I am exhausted.

That's my story in a nut shell.

Comments

• jaminhealth
    Options