Hi, Newbie here.

Options
Kittylou
Kittylou Member Posts: 2
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:06 in Living with arthritis

Hi, I’m 52 years old and have severe osteoarthritis arthritis in both knees and am really struggling with the intense pain 24/7. My pain literally started overnight in November 2019 and by January 2020, I was as really struggling to walk. I had an injection in my left knee in February 2020 but it didnt help. I now have crutches and a knee brace (second knee brace being fitted later this month) yet can still barely walk. I’m under the hospital physio (just telephone appointments so far) and have a physio regime called Escape Pain, which I do twice a week, but I find it makes my pain worse for hours after it. It’s meant to take 40/45 minutes but takes me almost and hour and a half because the pain from some exercises is too intense to move quickly on to the next. I’m on Naproxen and co-codamol, but they barely touch the pain, which wakes me up constantly through the night and has me virtually housebound as something as simple as a trip to Tesco on a Friday wipes out my weekend, the pain is so unbearable after it. I know exercise is important but I can’t describe how agonising it is even putting one foot in front of the other each day. I’m very overweight and trying hard to lose; my current bmi is 40, down from 43, but I know the orthopaedic surgeon (who I haven’t met yet) will only consider surgery when bmi is 34 or below. I’ve managed to keep working as my job became 99% desk work, and at home, due to covid, but as the world returns slowly to normal, I have no idea how I will cope, so am seeing my manager tomorrow to request an Occ Health referral.

I look forward to benefiting from the great advice and support that seems to be on offer here!

Comments

• Anna
    Anna Moderator Posts: 982
    Options

Hi @Kittylou and welcome to the online community,