Walking the West Highland Way

Hi, newbie here :-)

I've had RA for 20 odd years, I'm 52 just now. I've always tried to stay active but sometimes RA has put its foot down lol

I have always wanted to walk the West Highland Way and I feel its maybe now or never but I don't know if it's just a step too far.

I have a year to prepare and obviously judge my body's reaction to longer hikes but just wondering if anyone has attempted/done this. The plan would be to do it over 7 days and stay in hotels so limited weight to carry and a hot bath at night.

Any advice appreciated, many thanks.

Comments

• Anna
    Anna Moderator Posts: 947

Hi @Carolyngee and welcome to the online community,

You’ve had RA for 20 years and you’ve remained as active as possible. You’d like to walk the West Highland Way and would like some tips and advice from members who’ve walked it.

First of all - good for you! It sounds like you know your own body and are giving yourself plenty of time to prepare.It will be interesting to hear if other members have walked the Way or other long distance paths.

Ive linked to a couple of pages that you might find useful. The first is from the Versus Arthritis website and it gives you some tips and advice about walking:

The second is a thread from the community where walking boots are discussed:

Best of luck, and do let us know how you’re getting on!

Anna ( mod)

Need more help? - call our Helpline on 0800 5200 520 Monday to Friday 9am to 6pm

• Rina
    Rina Member Posts: 85

Hi @Carolyngee and welcome!