Struggling with work

Options

Hi everyone, I am a primary school teacher who works part-time. I have spinal stenosis, bulging discs, arthritis in hips and spine and have just had to take 4 weeks off work with horrendous sciatica. I am in pain every day but try to manage on over the counter pain medication with prescription meds for when things get worse. I am now back at work but really struggling. The fatigue is difficult to cope with, as is feeling like I've been hit by a bus at the end of the day. My non-working days are spent recovering from the 3 days I work. I know everyone is different but do you think, from your experience, that things are likely to get worse? How have you managed with a stressful job? I am wondering about using Access to work to see if adaptations can be made to help with work. Sorry about my rambling and thanks for reading.

Comments

• noddingtonpete
    noddingtonpete Moderator Posts: 1,005
    Options

Need more help? - call our Helpline on0800 5200 520Monday to Friday 9am to 6pm

• Baloo
    Baloo Member Posts: 398
    edited 16. Jul 2023, 09:25
    Options

@Lilydog66 possibly think of the adaptions you need as being off the scale of simple adaptions somewhere along the line, and go for it.

I happened to have an understanding employer. Access to work at their suggestion - I now take a taxi to work and back every day without which the journey would be near impossible to bear.

Workstation assessment not so interesting but the bluetooth headset wow.

Consider other options too. I am currently training as Union Rep, as they are legally allowed paid time off work. I am aiming to obtain an hour a day off in the middle of work just to do something else that will come with a useful sense of job satisfaction in it and a break to the run of the mill routine.

It can be done.

• Michobeatlesfan
    Options

Hi,