New and unsure

jackieellis
jackieellis Member Posts: 9
edited 4. Aug 2009, 06:52 in Say Hello Archive
Morning everybody. This is my first posting and I'm not sure what to say! I have just been diagnosed with OA in my right knee and at the moment it's really painful - I didn't realise it would be this bad! I'm trying to convince myself that it could be something else and will disappear. Any way I'm 51 have 2 grown up children and 1 granddaughter who is just brilliant. I work full time as an assistant transport manager and enjoy what I do. I've been looking at the site and am totally impressed, there is just so much information and I'm sure it will be good to "talk" to like minded people and be able to pick their brains.

Comments

• jackieellis
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    hi jacki welcome :) i also have OA and both my knees are rageing rite now ;) jan x

Any ideas on how to ease the pain?
  • frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,332
    Hi Jackie
    Welcome from me!
    Pleased to meet you!
    Have you tried those heat packs? You pop em in the micro - they can really help beleive it or not and if it does you can buy things you stick on or in a bandgae which can be better as you can carry on with your activities.
    curaheat? I think get em from tesco.
    Obvioulsy there are loads of painkillers like paractml which prob won't toug=ch it. Then you can have para and codeine from chemist. If you need stronger GP is the only place to get them from.
    Also anti -inflams like ibuprofen (over the counter) if you have inflamation.
    Ice packs can also give releif for some people too. Make sure you put a teatowel on your knee first though.
    Rest as much as poss and do the range of movement exercises on this site.
    OK will shut up now!
    Take care
    Toni x
  • jackieellis
    frogmorton wrote:
    Hi Jackie
    Welcome from me!
    Pleased to meet you!