what to expect

lucymum
lucymum Member Posts: 113
edited 21. Jan 2010, 15:46 in My child has arthritis
Lucy is due to start oral MTX and i was wondering what to expect.
I have read some information about it, and understand that different people have different reactions, but i was wondering what the majority of you found the side affects were, and any tips on how to deal with them???
Sorry i am new to all of this, i have always taken medication, from a young age, but have never had to live with the side affects in a child.
please help, any advice will be greatly recieved x x x x :lol:

Comments

• illihor
    illihor Member Posts: 283
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Kayleigh has been on mtx for 2 weeks, but she is having injections they have bypassed oral for 2 reasons. First she is in bad shape and they think this will work better and quicker and second because she aleady gets stomach aches from ibuprofen and is in omeprazole and dr has written out a script for something else to help her go for a poo. Poor girl. Is starting to take a lot of side effect medicines :(

I hope she doesn't get any side effects from this medicine but our dr said the 3-4 weeks it says on the leaflet is highly optamistic and we're looking at 8 weeks for it to kick in I hope not as surely that's a very long time to wait to see if a medicine will actually work

have you been told that she will need monthly blood tests while on this medicine? We were also told if she did get a belly ache then she would be given colic acid :o

When does she start this medicine? Hugs hope it all goes well.
  • lucymum
    lucymum Member Posts: 113
    HI they have said that lucy needs 2 weekly blood tests and will need folic acid three days after every dose to combat some of the sife affects and because the medicine reduces the intake of folic acid.
    They told us to look out for colds etc, as it will make her prone to them, but asside from that nothing has been said.