struggling with uni+fatigue+pain!

Options
skinnylizzie
skinnylizzie Member Posts: 37
edited 22. Mar 2011, 17:59 in Young people's community
:sad:

Hi!
I'm new to the site, and I'm 26 and have been diagnosed with inflammatory arthritis...not sure which type yet, but am being treated with hydroxchloroquine and etoricoxib. The rheumy wants to put me on methotrexate, but after reading all the posts about the side effects I'm a little nervous!
I just wondered if there was anyone out there who is also struggling with uni? I'm in my 2nd year of a BA English Language and Media degree, and haven't been to class for nearly two months now due to the unbearable fatigue and pain...and I'm in contact with the disability team who are hopefully going to help me to 'adjust' the pathway to allow me to continue but with less contact time, maybe by extending by a semester.
How do other people cope with uni+pain+fatigue? I'd be grateful for any tips!!
Thanks!

Comments

• jennylynn
    jennylynn Member Posts: 101
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi SkinnyLizzie,

Welcome to the forum! you will find so much help from people who have lots of exprience in dealing with fatigue and work stress. If you post in the 'living with arthritis' section you may get a few more answers to your post, as quite a few people read that section.

I'm 27 and have psoriatic arthritis which affects my right side, from my wrists to my knees and toes! i also have raynaulds and spondylitis in my spine so bit of a mixed bag! Anyway i stumbled across your posting as i myself am currently at uni doing a dental therapy course. I can understand your concerns about the methotrexate, i am currently taking that myself by weekly injection. Having had both the tablet and the injection form i can honestly it isnt as scary as it sounds and it affects everybody differently - so dont judge it on other peoples experience. Also what works for some may not work for others so please dont be afraid to try new things.