*Wave*

Beebopaloo
Beebopaloo Member Posts: 26
edited 12. Oct 2011, 11:37 in Say Hello Archive
Hey - not totally sure what to write so here goes...

My name is Beccy, I am a lawyer and 29 years old. I have advanced Osteo-arthritis of the cervical spine.

18 months ago , C4,5,6&7 were replaced with carbon fibre implants and osteophytes were removed from my spinal cord (I had 8mm spinal cord compression on 3 levels caused by the degradation of the vertebrae). Since then my C3/4 and C7/8 joints have degraded at a surprising rate and C5,6,7 have fused of their own accord leaving only 6 degrees of movement in those joints - it is anticipated that within the year more vertebrae will require replacing (probaly C3 & 8 ).

My spinal cord was scarred and bruised from the osteopyhtes and I now have a condition whereby I get electric shock charges in my back and I have lost substantial feeling in my hands. I have ADHD and it gives me ticks (like a person with tourettes) and it is believed the ticks are the reason my spine has degraded at such an increased rate.

Saying all of the above - I continue to do a lot of exercise, play sports, go to work everyday and I am looking to run my first marathon next year! The exercise is painful but it keeps my mood up :smile: I also have found yoga, shiatsu and massage really beneficial.

Although the pain is awful my main concern is the future - I just dont know how bad it is going to get - but if my spine is like this at 29 then what will it be like at 50? I am sorry if my hello sounds a bit sorry for myself- in truth I am just quite frightened but I find it hard to tell my family and friends how scared I am because I know how much it will upset them and I try to stay positive.

I guess I would really appreciate someone who actually understood how it feels and how painful it is and how scary it is.

Beccy
xxxx

Comments

• traluvie
    traluvie Member Posts: 2,579
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Beccy,,