The word 'Disability' and other helpful things

davywavy
davywavy Member Posts: 8
Evening all,

Bit of a mixed question this but hopefully I'll explain it right.

I was recntly diagnosed with chronic arthritis of the lumbar spine, had the MRI scan and a huge report done. My GP has prescribed me with Tramadol, Amitriptyline, artificial saliva (because my mouth gets dry as cotton with the tablets) and Paracetamol. I have been told I will always be on medication.

I've been having the most amazing backache for a few months, naturally I knew it was not just the usual aches and pains I've experienced. I was, even though I'm a rufty tufty police officer, very upset about the findings. Telling my bosses at work wasn't something I enjoyed but in order to protect folk and myself it was advised by the GP.

It's become apparent at work that little is known about the ailment I have, I on the other hand read everything (bit dim so I like it in black and white!). The first question I got was 'how longs it going to last?', this was followed by ' is it really a disability?'. Now as I read it and have been told I have what I have, pain relief and excercises may help but i now have this for life. Secondly Under the Equality Act I have a physical impairment that has a substantial ie not minor or trivial effect that is having a long-term effect on my ability to perform normal day to day activities, i no longer get out and about as much shopping, going for walks etc. Am I right in my thinking???.

My wife jokes that I need a blue badge for my car, joking aside (and i do like a laugh) the pain after a short trip can be enough to bring a tear to my eye. I'm embarrassed to say it but even though I'm only 42 is that something I could apply for?. I'm in full time employment so Im not after claiming anything as I dont think I'd be allowed to anything anyway.