Hello everyone help choosing thumb splints please

Options
jelly4toes
jelly4toes Member Posts: 2
edited 6. Jun 2012, 14:56 in Say Hello Archive
Hello I am a newbie to the site.I am right at the start of this arthritic journey.I would be really grateful of a little help please.

I have been having many aches and pains and difficulty walking for several years.I've been back and forward to the DR's many times but told theres nothing to see.However I woke up last week unable to put my foot to the floor or use my thumbs.I am awaiting all the test results.I desperately need to find some thing to help my poor thumbs.I can't grip or use them and each morning I wake to find that due to the pain in the night my hands are scrunched up into balls.
I have to go to work and am a single parent with 3 dogs to walk so I need to get going.

Please can someone advise me what is best to buy to support my thumbs and also the big toe and bottom of both feet are killing me.I took the doggies out last night we usually go an hour each day.How I did it is a mystery.I am in agony and can't put my foot to the floor.
Has anyone any advice what aids are the best to get while I wait on all the tests etc.

I'm sorry its a long first post but I am so grtaeful to have found you all.
thanks

Comments

• tillytop
    tillytop Member Posts: 3,460
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello jelly4toes (love the name!) and welcome to the forum.

The first thing I would say is that, although it is possible to buy splints over the counter, it is not something which I would necessarily advise in case you end up doing more harm than good. Really, it needs to be a physio or occupational therapist who advise you on something like this. I do know that it is not always easy to access these services but it might be worth asking your GP for a referral.