Calling all teachers

Options
Nikkijamie
Nikkijamie Member Posts: 34
Hello
I have recently been diagnosed with OA in my hip. I'm currently a police community support officer so not a very suitable job and I'm seriously considering re training to become a teacher - I have always wanted to but never had the guts x

Will this be a career where I can manage this problem? Honest thoughts please

Hope your all well

Nikki

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,713
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    I was a teacher many, many years ago and my OA was a result of RA. I think the answer would simply be that it depends on how quickly ykour OA progresses and that is so individualistic as to be impossible to predict. We do have teachers on here. (I think frogmella is one). Almost by definition, if people are on here, they are struggling to some extent. The ones who aren't don't post. You might get more answers if you also post this on LWA. I hope you get some that help.
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • ShulaArcher
    ShulaArcher Member Posts: 174
    Options
    Hello Nikki

I was a teacher for about 23 years and for a lot of that time had hip problems, which did not limit me in carrying out my job. What subjects are you thinking of teaching or what age range? Some subjects inevitably involve more movement than others. If you really want to teach, and you find you enjoy being in front of a class and experiencing learning taking place, there is no job as satisfying.

All the best for the future, Shula
  • mld
    mld Member Posts: 45
    Options
    I am a teacher. One problem is that I like to have a tidy classroom and some of my classes think that it's fine to litter the floor - or they thought that it was. They now see me try to reach the floor to pick up a pen, pencil, ruler etc and know that I need help. Since then they have put their rubbish in my litter bin!