Thirteen years ago today: 9/11 Where were you?

rondetto
rondetto Member Posts: 2,526
edited 13. Sep 2014, 12:04 in Community Chit-chat archive
Thirteen years ago today was the day 9/11 the twin towers fell to
terrorists.
Everyone must remember where they were when they heard the news.
My wife and I were on holiday in Cornwall and wondered what all the fuss
was about. We turned on the tv in the hotel room and watched in horror as events turned out.
Where were you?

Comments

• mig
    mig Member Posts: 7,154
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    I worked as a school cleaner and started work at 3pm I was just listening to the news before I went out and stood with month open watching it on tv when I got to work I was told the towers had collapsed. RIP . mig
  • barbara12
    barbara12 Member Posts: 21,280
    We were in Eastbourne on holiday ...our only holiday there and we came back to the hotel and switched on the TV only to see a plane sticking out of one of the towers , so we thought it it was an accident..only to see the other one hit...even now its sends shivers down my spine... :shock:
    Love
    Barbara
  • mamasmurf
    mamasmurf Member Posts: 89
    My youngest son was 17 at the time and came home from work to find me watching it on tv . Never forgotten his words , " wow , that looks good ! What film is it ? " . He was horrified to find that it was real life .
    mamasmurf
  • rondetto
    The worst tragedy I've ever seen in my life.
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    Chapel Allerton Hospital for 3 weeks intensive physio, x-rays and med change.

My husband and son came in asking if we'd heard the news so someone switched the TV on and patients, visitors, nurses and cleaners watched in horror. Unreal was the only word for it.
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • LignumVitae
    LignumVitae Member Posts: 1,972