Hello! Just joined...

MsEm
MsEm Member Posts: 6
edited 20. Jun 2015, 06:19 in Say Hello Archive
Hello!
I'm a newbie to this forum - indeed to the whole world of arthritis. Yesterday I was officially diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis (I guess there are abbreviations for all these terms which I am yet to learn!). Before yesterday I was burying my head in the sand and did no research on arthritis despite the fact that I've had terrible pains in my hands for a few weeks now. Luckily I was quickly referred to the rheumatologist and so today I will start on Methotrexate. Not sure what to expect but reading these messages on this forum has assuaged those feelings of isolation :)

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello MsEm,

Welcome to the forums from the moderation team.

I am very pleased you have found us and am certain you will receive a great deal of support from the members on here.

Please join in wherever you want to. The forum is moderated daily so if you experience any problems on here please do send us a PM and we will do our best to help.

Best wishes

Moderator AC
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    Hello MsEm and welcome from me, too :)

It sounds as if you've had a very speedy journey through diagnosis. That's great for your future prospects but no doubt very bewildering right now.

Yes, we have lots of abbreviations. RA is the usual one for rheumatoid arthritis (not to be confused with ReA – reactive arthritis), OA for osteo and PsA for psoriatic. And lots more which you don't need right now.

Doing no research is probably far less damaging than researching stuff in the wrong places. Mr Google has a lot to answer for. If you want to know more about arthritis, here is good as is NHS Choices (not that we have any choice :wink: ) and ARUK.