Hi I am new to this????

Debsy29
Debsy29 Member Posts: 2
edited 26. Jun 2015, 12:36 in Say Hello Archive
I have RA and have had this for 15 years, this year I have noticed I have gone down hill a little, I am on methotrexate and Rituximab although i am only having my 2nd course next month, the thing I have noticed is how depressed I have got this last 6 months, this is having a massive impact on my personal life....any tips appreciated x

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello, which bit are you new too? I'm guessing it's using a forum and not the RA. :wink: I am nineteen years in with my arthritis, I have PsA (psoriatic) and that has led to OA: when that was diagnosed back in 2011 depression hit and hit hard: I went to see my GP and she was pleased to give me anti-depressants (her exact words were 'At long last.') I, however, was not pleased to take them and was determined to have them for only three months. My rheumatologist disagreed, her argument being that if I was stronger mentally I would be better able to deal with the pain. Much to my then chagrin she was right and I now take a small daily maintenance dose of Citalopram; if I forget I notice the difference in my attitude and ability to cope.

This may not be the answer for everyone but I found it helped me and still does. All our circumstances, illnesses, and the ways in which we are affected vary widely but we all have one ghastly thing in common. I have never had just one or two meds, it's always been three or more so it could also be that you need a review. I haven't had rituximab but I have tried infliximab and Enbrel: I am now on a triple therapy of injected meth, injected humira and tablet sulph. My pain relief of choice is co-codamol 30/500, I won't take anything stronger because I don't see the point.

I hope someone else will be along soon - not many look in on here which is a shame because we were all new at one point. I wish you well. DD