Hello I'm new!

Whiskey26
Whiskey26 Member Posts: 88
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:06 in Living with arthritis

Hi I'm new to all of this and I'm hoping to be able to chat with like minded people on here. I'm 56 and was diagnosed with severe osteoarthritis in my right hip back in October last year. I had a bad flare up at Christmas, which seems to be still ongoing. I've had to give up my job as an office cleaner, due to the problems I'm having walking and bending. Feeling quite low at times due to all of this.

Comments

• Anna
    Anna Moderator Posts: 947

Hello @Whiskey26 and welcome to the online community,

I can imagine that you must be feeling low after having to give up your job due to a bad flare-up of osteoarthritis in your hip. You've only been recently diagnosed, and the change in your life can seem quite a lot to take in to begin with. But you've certainly come to the right place to chat with like minded people. Our members have all experienced some form of arthritis, and are a friendly supportive bunch. If you have any questions or concerns, there will usually be someone who has been through the same and can offer some helpful advice based on their own experience. There are several forums (the links are on the right) and you will be welcome to join in with any of the conversations, or start your own discussion. We chat about all sorts of things, from how to cope with daily life to gardening to our favourite pictures of cats!

I'm sure our members will want to welcome you themselves, but while you're waiting you may be interested in the following links from the Versus Arthritis website where you can read in more detail about osteoarthritis of the hip, the treatments and medication and also some suggestions for pain relief:

Do let us know how you're getting on,

Anna (mod) : )

Need more help? - call our Helpline on 0800 5200 520 Monday to Friday 9am to 6pm

• Whiskey26