Self doubt

So I've have an interview tomorrow for an internal job at my work place. It's a job that I know I can do as I have 15 years plus experience in the field and all the relevant qualifications, but I find I've started to doubt myself.

I have rheumatoid arthritis (I've had it for 9 years), and it's been flaring up lately (my rheumy team are doing there best to help me get it under control) and I find that being in pain and generally feeling unwell has made me start to doubt my abilities and question whether I'm up to the job.

Does anyone else find that chronic illness can often make you doubt yourself and what you're capable of?

Comments

• Mike1
    Mike1 Member Posts: 1,992

Yes!

• Lilymary
    Lilymary Member Posts: 1,740

Yes, chronic illness, particularly pain, can really mess with your head. Tell your inner voice to b*gger off and leave you alone and get on with the interview. You are not defined by your pain, even if it does its level best to make your life miserable.

You said yourself you've got all the relevant experience and qualis, that's what you take into the interview with you, not your RA.

You will have to decide whether you mention your condition in the interview, but my understanding is (someone correct me if I'm wrong) that they can't dismiss your application on that basis. If the RA doesn't directly affect your ability to do your job, that shouldn't be an issue. But stilling the internal dialogue can be difficult. Sit down and write your CV for your own benefit. List all the experience and qualis you have, your personal achievements, what qualities make you good for the job. Remember my comment in the first para above if need be, and read it again and again before you go for your interview. You'll boss it!

• AmyAcorn
    AmyAcorn Member Posts: 29