Hello, newbie here

Options
Bruvstine
Bruvstine Member Posts: 3
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:06 in Living with arthritis

Hi all, new to this forum but hoping i can get some useful information in respect of Living with Arthritis. I have Osteoarthritis in my toes (on one foot) which was diagnosed about 4 years ago. Since then i have retired all my lovely Jimmy Choo and Louboutin high heel shoes and now live in A trainer and a solid sole boot. At 46 this was a bit of a shock and I’m still really struggling with my, what i would call, non lady like look. To me high heels was my power and i felt good wearing them. No i feel like i just waddle around, shoulders down….you get my drift hopefully.

But as one of the “non visible” (apart from my odd shoes) disabilities its very difficult explaining to people why i have two different shoes or why i’m parking in a disable space.

So nearly 5 years on, still in pain most days, im using my disability to not do anything. “I can’t go for a walk today because my foot hurts” or “Sorry im not going to that party as i’ve nothing to wear” and obviously the pandemic hasn’t helped. Oh did i mention also that I’m peri menopausal too with possibly and under active thyroid. Which all cumulates into extra weight which is making me even more unhappy with my body!

Why have i joined….i need help, i need to get out of this rut of saying I can’t do things and find somethings i can do and enjoy! I need me back! So any help I’d really appreciate.

Comments

• Tom
    Tom Member Posts: 522
    Options

Welcome to the forum, @Bruvstine. I see that you have had OA in your toes for five years and are finding coping with the changes you have had to face difficult.

You will see many posts on this forum where members recount similar experiences. Here are some links to information on our website:

Good luck, and let us know how you get on.

Tom, Moderator.

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,710
    Options

Hi bruvstine and welcome from me too.