how quickly life can change.

Options
Boomer13
Boomer13 Member Posts: 1,931
edited 10. Mar 2014, 14:32 in Living with Arthritis archive
Well, a quick hello to everyone and wow do I miss my not-so-old routine.

Life changed within an hour last week when my OH was in a head-on car crash (not his fault). He's ok and extremely lucky, and suddenly, I am a nurse. Great, a handicapped nurse but I guess that's better than none. Mr. has a severely cut and stitched hand, injured chest, back, and a concussion. Wow, is he ever lucky to be alive (and I, because he is my carer normally) and will recover, if he doesn't die of pig-headedness first. That's another story. I'm not sure how I drove myself to the hospital when I received the phonecall; I had my head in the toilet bowl at the time because of a migraine headache (sorry for the detail there :oops: ).

I ache, ache, ache.......I've scrubbed, doted-on, cooked, washed, shoveled, rolled, cried, changed bandages, sweated and not even done very much it seems. Now I must go and carry on. Bye for now, hug your loved ones.

((())) to you.

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Oh Anna, how dreadful for both of you, I am so sorry. I suppose the good news is that he is OK but the strain on you must be almost intolerable. I find it difficult to care for my husband when things go wrong for him but somehow we do it, yes? They care for us so it's only right and proper that we care in turn. I urge you not to overdo things, help him yes but also help yourself by not rushing about; you are doing much more than you realise and yes, their pig-headedness doesn't help. :roll: Usually-healthy men can be chronically bad patients. Take care, we'll be here whenever you can get in and please send him my good wishes for a full recovery. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,713
    Options