New here. PsA and taking methotrexate

Options

I was diagnosed with PsA 18 months ago. Symptoms became obvious about a year before that, sore hip, swollen fingers, flare of psoriasis, nail changes, pain in my knee and heels plus lower back pain. GP went through many NSAIDS but they didn't touch it. Sulfasalazine gave me nausea and awful headaches and didn't really help.

I used to walk 2-3 miles every day with ease and now can not even walk around the supermarket without being in agony. I've had to get a mobility scooter to get any distance. I used to work full time as a carer and now haven't worked in over a year. It's brutal to my self esteem and general mental health. My husband is a bit of a horder and messy. It's causing so much friction between us as he doesn't see the issues I have with getting about in the house. We are in the process of moving to a smaller house so he has to clear out all the stuff we have no need for. Although I've had to turn down bungalows because of lack of parking due to him refusing to sell his car, I have a car and he has a pick up truck for work, we don't need it.

I'm starting to feel a little better and more mobile. Methotrexate seems to be doing its thing and I'm starting a higher dose of injections this week. I was taking 15mg weekly tablets, but diarrhea has been a bad side effect. Rheum thinks the injection will mean my tummy will calm down due to bypassing my gi system, and 22.5mg injection will mean the dose will last the whole week instead of 4 days.

I went to a bite sized session by versus arthritis a couple of weeks ago, met two other women with PsA, we've swapped numbers and have been messaging each other, it's been a great support and a relief to find others who understand.