Coping with arthritis from a young age

Hello 

Im new to this so I don’t know how it works, but just thought I would come on here and say a little bit about myself

My name is Rosie, I was diagnosed with arthritis and uveitis at the age of 1, I am now 20.I would say when I was younger I didn’t struggle with it as much, but as I have got older has made me for more and more like an outsider.For the most part my arthritis is under control however my uveitis has a tendency to flare up.When flare ups happen I tend to struggle the most as I think the worst.

I think the big thing for me is the common to terms with the fact that I have these illnesses and there’s not much I can do, which is a mental struggle for me a lot.

Whilst being at uni I learnt that not a lot of people are aware that younger people can struggle with diseases and I received a lot or rude comments surrounding me not drinking due to my medication.

Ive never met anyone in a situation to me and it would be lovely to hear other peoples stories 

Comments

• Anna
    Anna Moderator Posts: 1,058
    edited 25. Jun 2024, 19:57

Hi @rosiematthews837 and welcome to the online community,