Stairs!

Hel
Hel Member Posts: 2
edited 29. Jan 2021, 16:28 in Say hello

Hi everyone. I am new to writing on this forum & it has taken me a while of dipping in & out, to write something, so be gentle with me please!!

my first discussion (hopefully) is about the dreaded stairs!

in the summer when the weather is warm & mostly dry, I am able to walk up & down the stairs quite well. A bit of aching but that’s ok. The minute the damp, wet & grey weather comes I am reduced to gripping the handrail & putting my other hand on each stair as I very slowly negotiate upwards. Coming down I have to go sideways with both knees heading the same way & I feel like I have aged forty years then.

im sure you all have many of the same problems as I do, too many to list but the stairs are the worst thing. Even my toilet is against me as it’s upstairs.

yes we could move into a bungalow, but the prices are so high now & we can’t really afford to move.

what do others do in this situation? I’ve been thinking of leaving a ‘reward’ half way up !!!

Tagged:

Comments

• Brynmor
    Brynmor Administrator Posts: 949
    edited 29. Jan 2021, 17:02

Hi @Hel

Stairs are a perennial problem for lots of people that struggle with getting up and down them. I did a search of the Community on this subject:

@ROBCON has 3 flights of stairs: https://community.versusarthritis.org/discussion/53354/first-time-having-steroid-injections

@Simon finds stairs very awkward https://community.versusarthritis.org/discussion/53106/oa-in-knees

@daylily is having trouble going up and down stairs, and walking is getting increasingly difficult https://community.versusarthritis.org/discussion/52907/pain-in-whole-of-leg

These were just some of the notable ones I found.

To help negotiate stairs, many people have found that knee exercises are really good at keeping the joint flexible and help in strengthening stair-climbing muscles: