Acceptance?

Options

Comments

• sam36
    sam36 Member Posts: 6
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi everyone.
    Interesting thread, I don't have this disease, but a dear relative does have it, and I can tell you that this person accepted it from the outset, simply because she has a very positive mind, and believes the pain can be managed, even on those freezing cold wet days, but most importantly she believes a cure will be available sometime in the future. :)
  • Sarahd1609
    Sarahd1609 Member Posts: 64
    Options
    Hi everyone, Ive been fighting this for 3 years now and still can't accept it. Every rheumy appt meant a change to my diagnosis, the most recent being yesterday where they confirmed to me I have lupus on top of everything else. It just seems like just as I'm about to get used to it they throw another curve ball and I back to square 1. I've changed medications so many times and am on that much medication that without a reminder on my phone I struggle to remember what I'm meant to be ordering at the dr this week. I think it's hard to accept something you can't change and others can't see xx
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,713
    Options
    I'm sorry you've had such an uphill struggle, Sarah. There is something about being able to put a specific name to a disease which makes it a little more acceptable because we feel a little more in control of it – whether or not we actually are. The thing to keep in mind, with an autoimmune form of arthritis, is that there are loads of different types but the medication remains more or less the same whatever name we are given for our disease.

Unfortunately, even for some of those whose type of arthritis can be pinpointed immediately, it can be a struggle to find the right medication. We still don't know why some meds work for some people and not others nor why some experience very bad side effects while others have none.