Former 50 Something marathon Runner With OA in Feet - Still Running 5k's

Jimberoonie
Jimberoonie Member Posts: 7
edited 4. Dec 2020, 14:39 in Let's Move

Hey folks

newbie here. I was diagnosed 18 months ago with OA in my TMT joints on both feet (bummer eh!). Got into Marathoning in my 40s and I guess might have overdone it (13 in total by 2018).

Doesn't seem to be too much about arthritis in the feet. Mostly medical documents rather than perspectives from other active people.

I guess I'm looking for hope that 1 to 2 x 5k trail runs a week is kinda OK and the damage (if any might not be that bad).

Is it worth the downsides?

Discuss 😥

Comments

• Brynmor
    Brynmor Member Posts: 1,755

Hi @Jimberoonie welcome to the Online Community, great to have you here.

I'm impressed you still running 5k trail runs each week with osteoarthritis in your feet. You do need to be aware that osteoarthritis doesn’t just affect the cartilage, but can also cause damage to the bones, ligaments, tendons and lining of affected joints.

We have a great page of information on our web site regarding osteoarthritis of the foot and ankle, including management of the condition, how it will affect you and also some more gentle sorts of exercises that can help.

Do join in across the Community, ask questions and give support. It's a great place for a chat or just to call in to let people know how you are getting on.

All best wishes

Brynmor

• Thanks so much for commenting.. Will read up.

Am I taking too much fo a risk? Wearing super cushioned shoes (Hoka Speed Goat) and everything feels good. Running on roads does leave me with the aches however so soft trails seem (at the moment) to make sense.

• Oh - I do also wear professional orthotics.

• Brynmor
    Brynmor Member Posts: 1,755
    edited 19. Nov 2020, 23:19

Hi.

The best person to give such advice would be your doctor / rheumatologist, or if you have been referred to a podiatrist.